The Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT) has chosen Theresa Krupski, RPSGT, RRT, as president-elect of its board of directors.

Krupski, a BRPT board member since 2011, will begin serving her two-year term as board president in January 2014. She currently serves as chairperson of the BRPT’s Scholarship Committee. She is also the director of the Neurodiagnostic Technology Program at the Community College of Denver in Colorado.

“It’s an honor to be elected president-elect of the BRPT board,” said Krupski. “I’ve thoroughly enjoyed working with, and learning from, this dedicated board of directors. Their leadership and innovative approach to effectively serving our credential holders, coupled with their devotion to the field, is remarkable.”

“Theresa has served on the Board through a busy and dynamic period. She is well-positioned to take the helm in 2014,” said current BRPT president Cindy Altman, RPSGT. “Her experience in the education arena will serve the organization well as it continues to build on these offerings.”

The BRPT also named current board member Eddie Perez, RPSGT, as its treasurer. Perez has been a BRPT board member since 2010 and currently oversees the Continuing Sleep Technology Education (CSTE) Program and serves on BRPT’s Exam Development Committee.

The BRPT will also add two new board members: Deb Kovacs-Sturdevant, RPSGT, RRT, and Helen Driver, PhD, RPSGT, DABSM. Kovacs-Sturdevant is the manager of the Sleep Center at Mercy Health Anderson Hospital in Cincinnati, Ohio. Meanwhile, Driver manages a sleep disorder lab at Kingston General Hospital and is an adjunct assistant professor in the Department of Medicine at Queen’s University, both located in Kingston, Ontario, Canada.