Six respiratory care companies — Aerogen, Dräger, Fisher & Paykel, Monaghan Medical, Philips Respironics, and Vyaire (formerly Carefusion) — were selected by AARC members for the association’s annual Zenith Awards. The awards were presented at the 62nd annual AARC Congress in San Antonio from Oct 15th to 18th, 2016.

The companies were selected based on the quality of their products, accessibility of their sales staff, responsiveness, service record, truth in advertising, and support of the respiratory care profession.

It was the eighth consecutive year that Dräger earned the award.

“Being honored with the Zenith Award speaks to the dedication that our sales, service, clinical applications, back-office support and marketing teams have each day to ensure Dräger provides the most innovative, quality respiratory solutions to our customers,” said Ed Coombs, MA, RRT-NPS, ACCS, FAARC, director of Marketing for Intensive Care at Dräger. “Knowing that we’ve been voted in by respiratory professionals who use our solutions daily makes the award win all the more special and humbling. And we’d like to thank the respiratory community for its hard work to care for patients as well.”

The award was the first for Vyaire Medical Inc under its new brand, however, it marked the ninth time Vyaire and its predecessor companies have received the award. Vyaire was formed as a standalone, global respiratory solutions company on October 3, 2016 when BD divested its respiratory solutions assets, including its anesthesia delivery and patient monitoring, respiratory diagnostics, mechanical ventilation, and respiratory care consumables lines.

“We are proud to accept the AARC’s 2016 Zenith Award as a new name in this industry with roots that extend back to the beginning in 1955, when Dr Forrest Bird developed the first mechanical ventilator,” said Ruth Lundstrom, Vice President and General Manager of Ventilation at Vyaire. “While our company name has changed, the people from across all of our business segments are the same. It is these talented people who have worked so hard to serve this profession that enabled us to receive this award.”

More information is available on the AARC website.