Dräger donated 11 Savina 300 and eight Evita Infinity V500 ventilators to respiratory therapy schools at this year’s AARC International Congress. By providing the latest mechanical ventilation technology, Dräger is helping to foster a greater learning experience for RT students — professionals critical to the future of healthcare.

RT schools are on the frontlines of training the next-generation of respiratory professionals – a role that will become even more important as the healthcare industry prepares for the demands of an aging population. The donation of Dräger ventilators gives RT students the invaluable experience of training with modern-day equipment in a simulated lab setting.

“Finding funding for capital budgets in educational programs can be exceptionally difficult, and many students are benefiting from the equipment donated by Dräger,” said Shawna Strickland, PhD, RRT-NPS, RRT-ACCS, AE-C, FAARC and Associate Executive Director-Education at AARC. “We appreciate the extra efforts of Dräger to improve respiratory care education and maximize positive patient outcomes.”

The RT schools that received the donations, include:

  • Antelope Valley College
  • Bellarmine University
  • Catawba Valley Community College
  • Concorde Career College
  • Elizabethtown Community & Technical College
  • Florida SouthWestern State College
  • Georgia State University
  • Hillsborough Community College
  • Kettering College
  • Lake Superior College
  • Nebraska Methodist College
  • Spartanburg Community College
  • SUNY Stony Brook
  • SUNY Upstate Medical Center
  • Tacoma Community College
  • Trident Technical College
  • UTMB-Galveston
  • Weber State University
  • Youngstown State University

“Dräger has donated 36 ventilators and counting to US schools as part of AARC’s education initiatives,” said Ed Coombs, MA, RRT-NPS, ACCS, FAARC, Director of Marketing for Intensive Care, Dräger Inc. “We pride ourselves on being at the forefront of RT education initiatives, and supporting academia’s efforts to ensure future professionals are an integral part of tomorrow’s healthcare community.”