Four states have implemented partial bans on vaping products and flavors, according to

As states wait for a federal policy to be finalized, some—including Michigan, New York, Massachusetts and Rhode Island—are acting on their own, and a number of others—including Illinois, New Jersey and Delaware—are considering similar legislation. These are the states that have enacted vaping bans so far.

  • Michigan: Ban on flavored vaping products, excluding tobacco flavor
  • New York: Ban on flavored vaping products, excluding mint and menthol e-liquids
  • Massachusetts: A four-month, statewide ban on online and retail sales of all marijuana and tobacco vaping products, flavored or otherwise
  • Rhode Island: A 120-day ban on flavored vaping products, not including unflavored tobacco products. An option to extend ban another 60 days.