Jack D. Buckley, MD, MPH, FCCP, has taken office as the 86th president of the American College of Chest Physicians (Chest).

Jack D. Buckley, MD, MPH, FCCP
Jack D. Buckley, MD, MPH, FCCP

The organization has also introduced the following positions:

  • John Howington, MD, MBA, FCCP as president-elect
  • Neil S. Freedman, MD, FCCP as new president-designate
  • Doreen Addrizzo-Harris, MD, FCCP as immediate past president

Dr. Buckley is a pulmonologist and critical care physician with an extensive background in education. He is a professor of Medical Education at Western Michigan University Homer Stryker MD School of Medicine. Previously, he has served as a pulmonary and critical care medicine (PCCM) program director at both Henry Ford Hospital and Indiana University, and he also held leadership positions in clinical care at Indiana University Health and as Division Head of PCCM at Henry Ford.

President-elect, John Howington, MD, MBA, FCCP, is a practicing thoracic surgeon currently at Virginia Mason Franciscan Health, St. Michael Medical Center, in Silverdale, Washington. Dr. Howington will serve as the 87th Chest President in 2025.

President-designate Neil S. Freedman, MD, FCCP, is a pulmonary, critical care and sleep physician with a background in clinical care, health care leadership, quality, financial oversight, education and advocacy. He currently serves in a senior leadership role at Endeavor Health as the President of NorthShore Medical Group, leading a multispecialty practice of 1,100 primary care and specialty physicians throughout the Chicagoland region.

Immediate past president Doreen J. Addrizzo-Harris, MD, FCCP, is a pulmonary/critical care physician and professor of Medicine at the NYU Grossman School of Medicine. Dr. Addrizzo-Harris was the 85th President and sixth woman to lead the organization.