The American Thoracic Society has recognized outstanding contributions to the field of respiratory health with three major Respiratory Health Awards during ATS 2019 in Dallas.

This year, ATS recognized four clinicians: Jacob I. Sznajder, MD; Jahar Bhattacharya, MD, PhD; John Hansen-Flaschen, MD; Meir Kryger, MD.

Jacob I. Sznajder, MD, who is the Ernest S. Bazley Professor of Asthma and Related Disorders as well as professor of medicine and cell and molecular biology at the Feinberg School of Medicine at Northwestern University, received the Trudeau Medal. The Trudeau medal, first awarded in 1926, is awarded in honor of Edward Livingston Trudeau, a founder and the first president of the American Lung Association. It recognizes his contributions to prevention, diagnosis and treatment of lung disease, and exemplary professionalism.

Awardee Jahar Bhattacharya, MD, PhD, professor of medicine, physiology and cellular biophysics at the Vagelos Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons, delivered the Amberson Lecture, titled “Lung Injury Seen Through the Lens of the Alveolus.” The Amberson Lecture is given each year by an individual with a career of major lifetime contributions to clinical or basic pulmonary research or clinical practice. It honors the legacy of James Burns Amberson, an international authority on chest disease and tuberculosis.

Two awardees received the Distinguished Achievement Award: John Hansen-Flaschen, MD, ATSF, the Paul F. Harron Jr. Family Professor of Medicine and founding director of Harron Lung Center at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, and Meir Kryger, MD, professor of pulmonary medicine at the Yale School of Medicine. The Distinguished Achievement Award acknowledges professionalism, collegiality, and citizenship in lung health and the research community.

“It’s an honor to recognize the achievements of the awardees here today,” said Polly Parsons, MD, ATS President. “Each year at the ATS international conference, clinicians and scientists come together from around the world to learn about the most cutting-edge treatments and research. With these awards, we recognize some of those who have devoted their careers to bringing us such breakthroughs through their work in their labs and with their patients.”